White Peach Sorbet

There was a time in my life when I was known by my family members as The Ice Cream Vacuum. What can I say? I like ice cream. But I’d never made my own, purely because I’ve never had an ice cream maker. This week, I got my hands on one. I also got ahold of some slightly bruised white peaches. I decided not to make ice cream, because I wanted to avoid the heavy whipping cream, especially in this intense heat wave we’re having. So I found a simple recipe for white peach sorbet on userealbutter.com, and went to town, adjusting the recipe slightly. I chopped and cooked the peaches last night, then put them in the fridge until this evening after work. I blended them up and put my mixture in the ice cream maker. Voila: white peach sorbet! And it is so good. Like, this-is-so-delicious-I-must-make-a-pained-expression-of-delight good. I think it’s time to invest in my own ice cream maker, just so I can continue making this sorbet.

White Peach Sorbet

7 ripe peaches, pitted and peeled*
2/3 cup water
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon kirsch or 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice**

Dice the pieces into medium chunks. Place in a medium saucepan with water and cover. Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally until they are soft. I let the peaches cook for quite awhile, until they were starting to fall apart and tons of juice had come out of them. Remove the saucepan from heat and stir in sugar. Let cool to room temperature. Add kirsch or lemon juice (I did not do this). Refrigerate mixture until chilled. Blend until mixture is smooth. Churn in your ice cream maker.

*I left the skins on by accident. It turned out wonderfully, anyway. Why make it more work than it needs to be? Plus, I think that’s what gave the sorbet its pretty pale pink color.

**I left out the lemon juice because I was all out. I didn’t use kirsch because I don’t know what it is, and therefore it is not in my kitchen. The sorbet is still delicious, and the peaches didn’t turn brown after cooking. If you make this sorbet and either kirsch or lemon juice, let me know how it turns out!

2 Comments on “White Peach Sorbet”

  1. Karen says:

    I love white peaches. When fresh, they have the most incredible aroma. Your sorbet sounds delicious.

    • ovenandink says:

      I love white peaches, too! You should definitely give the sorbet a try – the amazing flavor and aroma of the peaches just shine. And it’s super easy!


Leave a Reply

