Cucumber Boats; or, Some Experiments are Bound to Fail

I went to my little vegetable garden last night and came back with a basket of cucumbers and cherry tomatoes. I knew just what to do with the cherry tomatoes: Vegetarian Tortellini Salad. (I admit, I’ve been largely subsisting on this dish lately. I just can’t get enough of it.) But as for the cucumbers, I was a little overwhelmed. I’ve been pulling cukes out of the garden for weeks now, and I’m a little (read: really) tired of eating them raw as slices. And the cukes I picked last night were enormous; there were 3 I couldn’t wrap my hand around, and they were probably as long as my forearm.

I looked for a few recipes online, but most were more involved than I was willing to try last night. Some called for cream cheese, which I love, and I figured I would make something up. Thus, my version of Cucumber Boats.

It was not my finest dish.

It was easy to prepare and sounded tasty. I had high hopes. Some experiments are just destined to fail. Here is the recipe. If you have a great cucumber recipe, send it over. Please. I’m begging you.

Cucumber Boats

1 medium cucumber
about 2 tablespoons cream cheese
Italian Herbs*

Cut the ends off of the cucumber, and slice lengthwise. With a small spoon, scrape out the seeds. In a small bowl, mix the cream cheese with the herbs. I just kept adding more sprinkles of herbs until it looked pretty good and…herb-y. Liberally smear the herbed cream cheese into the hollowed-out cucumbers.

*I have a little jar in the spice drawer called Italian Herbs. Pretty sure it’s basil, oregano, maybe parsley, etc.

Leave a Reply

